Thursday, May 05, 2016

Singapore govt to sponsor Indian officers willing to learn anti-corruption strategies; Course begins on June 27

WILLING to learn anti-corruption tricks in Singapore, known to be one of the least corrupt nations in the world? The government of Singapore will provide accommodation, local transport, medical insurance and daily allowances to select middle level Indian bureaucrats who are willing to learn anti-corruption strategies at Civil Service College, Singapore to be held between June 27 to July 1, 2016. The selected officers or their ministries will have to bear just the cost of round trip air fare and other travel related expenses. Till date, Singapore has sponsored training courses and study visits for over 1 lakh officials from…

Tuesday, May 03, 2016

Know Your Bureaucrat: New Information and Broadcasting secretary Ajay Mittal

1982 BATCH Himachal Pradesh cadre IAS Ajay Mittal has taken charge as the information and broadcasting secretary replacing Sunil Arora who retired on April 30. Usually, information and broadcasting secretary is someone who has been working in government of India or the one already known in Delhi. So naturally, when Mittal’s name was announced after the approval of the appointments committee of the cabinet, many in the corridors wanted to know who this officer is. And here it goes:

Monday, May 02, 2016

Who will succeed Rakesh Asthana? Gujarat IPS association to name its president soon

Rakesh Asthana, IPS
ON MAY 5 and 6, senior police officers of Gujarat will attend a workshop at the Directorate of Forensic Science (DFS), Gandhinagar, and if media reports turn correct,  the police officers will also discuss who could be the successor of Rakesh Asthana as the president of IPS Association, Gujarat. The need to fill up the post of the state IPS Association chief arose when Asthana resigned after…

Friday, April 29, 2016

When actor Akshay Kumar demonstrates his combat skills in Hyderabad’s National Police Academy

AT THE time of writing this article, Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar’s Tweet on spending a day with police officers in Hyderabad’s Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy has been retweeted 2,600 times, with 8,700 people also liking it. The actor who was shooting his forthcoming biopic “Rustom” where he has been portraying the role of a Naval Commander named Rustom Parvi, in Hyderabad, took a day off from his schedule on Tuesday to visit the Academy where he had…

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Secretary Reshuffle: New Information and Broadcasting, environment and expenditure secretaries named

IN A major secretary level reshuffle at the Centre, the government on Tuesday announced appointment of Himachal Pradesh cadre IAS Ajay Mittal as new secretary in the ministry of information and broadcasting and shifting of environment secretary Ashok Lavasa as secretary in the department of expenditure under the ministry of finance. More than new appointments, the Tuesday’s reshuffle was more of swapping of secretaries and their transfer from one ministry to another. Here are 14 such secretary-level appointments:

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Bollywood is the next destination for IAS Hariom; meet this Ghazal singer from UP cadre

HARIOM is a 1997 batch Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS, currently posted as a consolidation commissioner in the state. But there is one more side to this multi-faceted Indian Administrative Service officer: He is a Ghazal composer and singer. And if the local news reports turn correct, this officer is on the verge of…

Monday, April 25, 2016

Woman officers, Northeast India and Inter-cadre deputation: Govt comes out with some clarity

THE government has clarified that inter-cadre deputation for woman officers posted in a Northeast cadre (Assam-Meghalaya, Manipur-Tripura, Sikkim and Nagaland) could be allowed for 5 years extendable to further 2 years at one go. Thereafter, the deputation for another spell of two years may be allowed after review, thereby taking the maximum number of years on deputation to another state to nine. The issue cropped up when 2004 batch Manipur cadre IAS Ms Nidhi Kesarwani asked for an…

Friday, April 22, 2016

10 districts receive PM’s Award; Gujarat, Maharashtra, MP, Punjab, Karnataka etc. draw a blank

Cab Sec PK Sinha, Addl Principal Secy to PM PK Mishra at the release
BIG Indian states, many of which are often considered progressive, have failed to make a mark in Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Implementation of Priority Programmes, presented by Prime Minister as a part of 10th Civil Services Day on Thursday. None of the districts from states such as Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab or Karnataka could figure in the award list. In fact, out of the 10 districts which were presented this coveted PM’s Awards, two are from…

Thursday, April 21, 2016

PM praises union secretaries for devoting 10,000 mandays on governance beyond office hours

10 of 677 districts selected for PM Awards 
Prime Minister Narendra Modi today praised the union secretaries, saying that they had devoted 10,000 mandays on key governance areas over and above their usual office hours. PM who addressed as many as 1,200 civil servants in New Delhi on the occasion of Civil Services Day referred to the recently constituted committees of secretaries on key areas of governance, adding that officers worked on these tasks voluntarily, after office hours and on holidays. He also said how those teams successfully broke silos and presented fresh ideas. Here are the key points of the PM’s speech at Vigyan Bhawan:

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Civil Services Day function kicks off in New Delhi; bureaucrats to discuss how to replicate PM's Awards in states, districts

AS THIS article is being written, the two-day-long Civil Services Day function is about to begin in New Delhi’s Vigyan Bhawan. According to the schedule being lined up by the department of administrative reforms and public grievances (DARPG), the nodal department handling the function, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address the bureaucrats on April 21. Today (Wednesday), the key highlights include an address by railway minister Suresh Prabhu and a discussion on how to replicate the PM's awards in states or even districts. Here below are the programme details: