Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Did you miss out the list of 13 non-IAS officers getting empanelled as GoI additional secretaries?

IT’S still not easy for non-IAS officers to move up to the rank of an additional secretary, as majority of them end up retiring at a level equivalent to union joint secretaries. But things are changing, albeit slowly. In mid-January, or January 12 to be precise, the government issued an order appointing 13 officers — they belonged to IES, IRPS, IAAS, IRS IT, IRSME, ISS, IDAS, CSS, IRPS — as union additional secretaries. First, let’s find out who all were empanelled as additional secretaries:
1. Sat Pal Chouhan, 1983 batch, Indian Economic Service (IES)
2. Rajiv Ranjan Prasad, 1983 batch, Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
3. Gargi Kaul, 1984 batch, Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS) 
4. Mamta Kundra, 1985 batch, Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS)
5. Rajat Sachar, 1985 batch, Indian Economic Service (IES)
6. Shefali Shah, 1985 batch, IRS-IT
7. Sanjay Chadha, 1985 batch, Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineering (IRSME)
8. T Rajeshwari, 1985 batch, Indian Statistical Service (ISS)
9. Mala Dutt, 1986 batch, Indian Economic Service (IES)
10. Sanjeev Kumar, 1986 batch, Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
11. Atul Kaushik, 1981 batch, Central Secretariat Service (CSS)
12. Sarita Mittal, 1981 batch, Central Secretariat Service (CSS)
13. Anil Kumar Gulati, 1984 batch, Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
So, the officers belong to the batches ranging from 1983 to 1986, i.e. all of them joined the government earlier to the 1987-88 batches of IAS who were already empanelled as additional secretary or additional secretary equivalents way back in June last year. But what can't be ignored is the fact that unlike in the past when most non-IAS officers ended up retiring at best as joint secretaries, this list of empanelment must be considered a new trend in the corridors. 

No comments:

Post a Comment