Wednesday, September 06, 2017

Know Your IAS: N Baijendra Kumar, new CMD of NMDC

N Baijendra Kumar, 1985 batch Chhattisgarh cadre IAS who till recently has been serving as additional chief secretary in the state, will be the new chairman and managing director (CMD) of National Mineral Development Corporation (NMDC), a government-run company that comes under the union ministry of steel. The government in an order dated July 21 had appointed 1988 batch Himachal Pradesh cadre IAS Ali Raza Rizvi as NDMC’s CEO, but it changed its mind saying in an order issued last week that “the earlier order of appointing Rizvi as CMD of NMDC stands cancelled”. Here are 10 things to know about Baijendra Kumar, the new CMD of NMDC:

1. Baijendra Kumar hails from Kerala, and was allotted Madhya Pradesh cadre after getting selected to IAS in 1985. Once the state got divided IN 2001, he was allotted the Chhattisgarh cadre.
2. Kumar was the additional chief secretary to Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh in 2014-16, apart from handling departments such as commerce and industry, and energy. 
3. In the state, he had handled other departments such as public relations, environment and forests, mining, information and broadcasting etc. 
4. Between 2001 and 2004, he was the deputy director in New Delhi’s All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) before joining as a director in the union ministry of health. 
5. In 2006-07, he was a joint secretary in the ministry of information and broadcasting. 
6. For a brief period, he also served as the principal resident commissioner in New Delhi’s Chhattisgarh Bhavan. 
7. In undivided Madhya Pradesh, Kumar served as the SDO of Dabra (Gwalior), additional collector of Jabalpur and collector of Balaghat and Sagar. 
8. In 2013, he did a short training programme in China on the power of urban growth. He also participated in domestic training programmes on subjects such as PPP, WTO and management. 
9. An M.Sc in zoology, Kumar did his M.Phil on environmental science.
10. Fifty seven years old Kumar will retire on July 31, 2020.

No comments:

Post a Comment