Saturday, March 06, 2010

Namaste: Government approves four new directors on NACIL Board

THE Government has approved the appointment of four new non-official part-time directors on the Board of the National Aviation Company of India Limited (NACIL) for a period of three years or till further orders whichever occurs earlier.
The NACIL, which was created to facilitate the merger of the two main state-owned airlines in India, Air India, with its subsidiary Air-India Express and Indian Airlines, together with its subsidiary Alliance Air, is being headed by a 1978 batch Karnataka cadre IAS Arvind Jadhav. In fact, CMD Mr Jadhav and his team have been engaged in saving the Indian national carrier from its mounting losses, but have come under severe criticism as the erstwhile market leader in Indian sky is now relegated to background with just 18% market share.
The newly appointed Directors include Anand G Mahindra, Air Chief Marshal Fali H Major (Retd.), Dr. Amit Mitra and Harsh Neotia. Whereas Mr Mahindra is the vice chairman and Managing Director of Mahindra and Mahindra Ltd. – the flagship company of the USD 6.3 billion Mahindra Group, Dr Mitra is the secretary general of industry lobby Ficci. Mr Neotia is currently the chairman of Ambuja Realty Group.
The earlier non-official part-time Director on the Board of NACIL, N Vaghul, has resigned recently.
Also Read

Indian Forest Service Exam, 2009 result announced
The Union Service Public Commission has announced the result of the Indian Forest Service Examination held in July 2009. Sangram Keshari Behera topped the merit list comprising 84 candidates, including 33 OBC, 12 SC and 7 ST. Vipra Pandey and Ripudaman Singh Bhadoria stood second and third respectively.

Action and Appointments
a) The tenure of appointment of Shatrughna Singh, a 1983 batch UK cadre IAS as Joint secretary in the PMO will be for a period of five years, from the date of taking over charge of the post, or until further orders.
b) Anil Goswami, a 1978 batch JK cadre IAS, presently in the cadre, has been appointed as additional secretary in the ministry of home affairs in the vacancy of A E Ahmad, a 1976 batch Manipur-Tripura cadre IAS.
c) V Rajagopalan, a 1978 batch UP cadre IAS, presently in the cadre, has been appointed as Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser in the department of chemicals and petrochemicals under ministry of chemicals and fertilizers in the vacancy of Mathew C Kunnamkal, a 1976 batch Kerala cadre IAS.
d) Sudhir Bhargava, a 1979 batch Rajasthan cadre IAS and presently joint secretary department of fertilizers, ministry of petroleum and natural gas has been elevated as an additional secretary.
e) PK Mohanty, a 1979 batch AP cadre IAS and presently Mission Director and joint secretary, of JNNURM, ministry of housing and urban poverty alleviation, has been elevated to additional secretary.

No comments:

Post a Comment