Thursday, December 27, 2018

YEAR END SERIES: 10 Key Appointments of Bureaucrats in 2018

IT’S time to say goodbye to the year 2018. For Indian bureaucracy it was quite an uneven journey this year — from the IAS-AAP battle in Delhi to an unprecedented war within the CBI. But the year also saw a series of key appointments with wider implications. Here below are 10 such appointments: 

1. Vijay Keshav Gokhale, 1981 batch Indian Foreign Service officer and secretary (economic relations) in the ministry of external affairs, was appointed as the foreign secretary in place of Dr S Jaishankar.

2. 1977 batch retired IAS OP Rawat was appointed Chief Election Commissioner; ex-finance secretary Ashok Lavasa was made Election Commissioner. Later during the year, Lavasa’s batchmate (1980 batch retired IAS) Sunil Arora who was already an Election Commissioner, became the CEC.

3. Pankaj Saran, 1982 batch Indian Foreign Service officer, became the deputy National Security Adviser (Dy NSA) for a period of two years on a deputation basis initially till the date of his retirement, i.e. November 30, 2018, and thereafter on a re-employment contract basis. Saran was the ambassador to Russia when his appointment was announced.

4. 1983 batch Indian Information Service officer Sitanshu Ranjan Kar was appointed as new principal spokesperson of the Government of India and Director General of Press Information Bureau.

5. MM Kutty, 1985 batch AGMUT cadre IAS and special secretary in the department of economic affairs, became secretary, petroleum and natural gas on superannuation of KD Tripathi, 1980 batch Assam cadre IAS on June 30, 2018.

6. BVR Subrahmanyam, 1987 batch Chhattisgarh cadre IAS and former PMO official, was made chief secretary of Jammu and Kashmir.

7. Anup Wadhawan, 1985 batch Uttarakhand cadre IAS and special secretary in the department of commerce became secretary, commerce on superannuation of Ms Rita Teotia, 1981 batch Gujarat cadre IAS on July 31, 2018.

8. Dr G Satheesh Reddy, Scientific Adviser to the defence minister, was appointed as the secretary, department of defence research and development (DDRD) and chairman of defence research development organisation (DRDO). His appointment was for a period of two years.

9. Rajni Kant Misra, a 1984 batch Uttar Pradesh cadre IPS officer and the officer who had a long innings with the Border Security Force (BSF) during the past, was made the new Director General of BSF.

10. In a first, an Indian Revenue Service (IRS-IT) officer — Sanjay Kumar Mishra — was appointed as interim head of Enforcement Directorate. The agency is usually headed by an IAS or an IPS officer.

No comments:

Post a Comment