Wednesday, January 17, 2018

2 IPS officers' extension proposals rejected; IPS Anurag Kumar posted in Indian embassy, Washington DC

TWO DAYS Two Instances of Rejection. Yes, during the last two days, there have been two instances of the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) declining proposals of the ministry of home affairs (MHA) for extension of deputation tenure of two IPS officers serving in CRPF. On Tuesday, the ACC declined the MHA’s proposal of extending the deputation tenure of 1991 batch Uttar Pradesh cadre IPS officer Piyush Anand, serving as Inspector General (IG) in CRPF. His deputation tenure ended on January 2, 2018. Only on Monday, the ACC had declined to…
extend the deputation tenure of VS Yadav, 1987 batch Tripura cadre IPS and Inspector General of Police in CRPF for a period of one year beyond November 14, 2017.
Meanwhile, there has been a clarification on the extension of tenure of another IPS officer —  Ms Ruchika Rishi of 2004 batch, Sikkim cadre — that the competent authority had given its nod to her extension as Senior Research Officer in International Relations/Regional Trade or Economics, Indian Ocean Rim Association (lORA) secretariat, Port Louis, Mauritius for a period of one year beyond May 20, 2018, but there’s a note of caution: “It may also be noted that the deputationist officer is deemed to have been relieved on the date of expiry of the deputation period unless the competent authority has with requisite approvals, extended the period of deputation, in writing, prior to its date of expiry. In the event of the officer overstaying for any reason whatsoever, he/she is liable for disciplinary action…”
Meanwhile, there has been a good news for the IPS community. Anurag Kumar, 1994 batch AGMUT cadre IPS, has been appointed as Minister (Personnel and Community Affairs) in embassy of India, Washington DC under the ministry of external affairs. He will hold the rank of a union joint secretary. In diplomacy, a minister is ranked above counsellor but below a deputy chief of mission. For the record, the career progression in diplomacy is as follows: third secretary, second secretary, first secretary, counsellor, minister, deputy chief of mission/deputy high commissioner/deputy permanent representative and then, ambassador/high commissioner/permanent representative.
Kumar who is a joint director in Intelligence Bureau, was awarded the President’s Police Medal on August 15, 2016.
In another development, Ramesh Kumar Sudhanshu, 1997 batch Uttarakhand cadre IAS and deputy director (JS level) in All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi, was on Tuesday prematurely repatriated to his parent cadre.
Also, the central staffing scheme tenure of Pankaj Kumar, 1991 batch Indian Telecom Service officer and director in the department of agriculture, corporation and farmers’ welfare, has been curtailed on his selection to the post of secretary, Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE), an agency that comes under the ministry of power.
Meanwhile, the competent authority has approved the assignment of the additional charge of the post of secretary, department of chemicals and petrochemicals to Jai Priye Prakash, 1982 batch Assam cadre IAS, who is currently the secretary in the department of pharmaceuticals, between January 16, 2018 and January 25, 2018 when incumbent secretary Rajeev Kapoor is on leave.

No comments:

Post a Comment