Wednesday, December 06, 2017

Govt upgrades SPG posts to inspector general’s level to rope in 2 senior IPS — Alok Sharma and S Suresh

TWO IPS officers — Alok Sharma of 1991 batch and S Suresh of 1995 batch — were appointed as Inspector General (IG) in Special Protection Group (SPG), an elite force which is in charge of protecting India’s Prime Minister, former PMs and their families. The SPG commandoes are often called the black cats. In order to rope in these two senior officers, both currently working in Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB), the government had to temporarily…
upgrade two posts of DIG (deputy inspector general) to IG level in SPG for a period of two years. Alok Sharma belongs to Uttar Pradesh cadre whereas S Suresh is a Kerala cadre IPS. “The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the proposal of Office of Secretary (Security), Cabinet Secretariat for appointment of the following officers as Inspector Generals in SPG on lateral shift basis, by temporarily upgrading two posts of DIG to IG level for a period of two years from the date of assumption of charge or till clear vacancies at IG level are available or until further orders, whichever is the earliest”, said an order issued on Tuesday, mentioning the names of Sharma and Suresh.
Meanwhile, the government on Tuesday announced the appointment of four officers to the posts of deputy secretary/director. Here below are those 4 appointment orders: 
1. Amar Singh Meena, 1995 batch Indian Telecom Service (ITS) officer, has been appointed as the director in the ministry of cooperate affairs for a period of five years.
2. Rahul Kapoor, a 2002 batch Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS) officer, has been appointed as director in the department of financial services for a period of five years.
3. Chander Shekhar, a 2000 batch Indian Ordnance Factory Service (IOFS) officer, has been appointed as director in the department of rural development for a period of five years.
4. Ms Ritu Aggarwal, 2006 batch Punjab cadre IAS, has been appointed as deputy secretary in the department of school education and literacy.

No comments:

Post a Comment