Thursday, October 13, 2016

Mega IPS reshuffle in Gujarat; Ahmedabad Police Commissioner shifted to IB

GUJARAT government on Wednesday undertook a major police reshuffle, involving as many as 21 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers. The highlight of the IPS reshuffle, the first major one after Vijay Rupani took over as chief minister of the state replacing Anandiben Patel in August the year, is the transfer of Ahmedabad Police Commissioner and 1983 batch IPS Shivanand Jha to Intelligence Bureau, and then the shifting of Surat Police Commissioner and 1985 batch IPS Ashish Bhatia to CID (crime and Railways). Jha will be…
additional DGP in IB and be based out of Gandhinagar. Also, Ahmedabad’s new Police Commissioner will now be AK Singh, 1985 batch IPS.
Meanwhile, 1986 batch IPS Satishkumar Sharma has been appointed as Surat Police Commissioner. Also, 1993 batch IPS Ms Neerja Gotru Rao, presently IGP in coastal security, has been appointed as IGP in Ahmedabad range. She is the only woman IPS officer in this list of 21 police officers. Also, the IPS who will actually hold an additional post — IG, State Monitoring Cell, Gandhinagar, which is not exactly a transfer— is 1993 batch IPS Hashmukh Patel. Manoj Shashidhar, 1995 batch IPS, currently posted as IGP in Ahmedabad, will be the new police commissioner in the city of Surat. 
S Pandiyan Raj Kumar, 1996 batch IPS and the one who has been in Mumbai as liaison officer for Gujarat Industrial Development Corporation, will now be back to a cadre post in Gujarat. He will be IGP in Junagarh. Pandiyan was in news two months ago when he was discharged by a special court in alleged fake encounter cases of Sohrabuddin and Tulsiram Prajapati.
Meanwhile, 1992 batch IPS KLN Rao will have to await for posting as the home department notification issued on Wednesday said: “His posting will be decided later on”.

No comments:

Post a Comment