Monday, August 29, 2011

BoI Power List: CVC Pradeep Kumar ranked third most powerful bureaucrat

Pradeep Kumar: Scaling High
IN THIS season of scams and growing anti-corruption movements, it’s not unusual that power centre shifts from the conventional powerful bureaucrats to those who check-mate the high and mighty. Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) Pradeep Kumar is the third most powerful bureaucrat, according to BoI ( list of 5 Most Powerful Indian Bureaucrats, 2011. This is the third year in a row that BoI is coming out with this power list. Cabinet secretary Ajit Kumar Seth and Principal secretary to PM TKA Nair are ranked fourth and fifth most powerful bureaucrats in 2011 list.
Kumar’s power comes from fact that the CVC just can’t sit idle when there is a nationwide protest against graft. That means more concrete actions against corrupt bureaucrats are on their way, and it’s not unusual to find the government’s anti-corruption watchdog becoming much more vigilant. And that ultimately makes Kumar more powerful that he was as India’s defence secretary. The equation may, however, change when a strong and independently selected Lokpal anchors the show. But that may still take some months, and the actual implementation may take a year.
Kumar, a 1972 batch retired IAS, was unanimously selected as India’s Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC), a post that unexpectedly lied vacant after the Supreme Court quashed 1973 batch retired IAS PJ Thomas’ controversial appointment as CVC. Kumar had earlier worked as chairman, National Highways Authority of India, secretary, disinvestment, defence production and then defence.
Among the high profile 1972 batch officers that are still playing key roles in corridors of power include national security adviser (NSA) Shiv Shankar Menon, Comptroller and Auditor General of India Vinod Rai, RBI governor D Subbarao, Planning Commission Member Secretary Sudha Pillai to name a few.
Also Read
TKA Nair loses AAA rating
Ajit Kumar Seth's power lessons

No comments:

Post a Comment