Saturday, June 26, 2010

A group of officers under DoPT secretary set up on privacy, data protection etc.

THE government has constituted a group of officers under the chairmanship of secretary, Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) to develop a framework that could balance the country’s interests and concerns on privacy, data protection and security and which could respect the domain legislations on the subject, a government release said. The framework developed by the group would include legal provisions, principles and elements of data protection, security and privacy. While developing the framework, the group will keep in view the existing provisions of various laws regarding protection of data and privacy of individuals.
The group is likely to submit its report within three months. The release further said that suggestions, if any, may be sent to KG. Verma, Director, Department of Personnel & Training, North Block, New Delhi – 110001 [], by July 5, 2010.
Significantly, Shantanu Consul, a 1974 batch IAS, is the DoPT secretary now. The DoPT in its website has kept the undated and unsigned document regarding this circular. CLICK HERE to check it yourself.

Action and Appointments
a) Arvind Kumar Chugh, a 1974 batch Jharkhand cadre IAS, presently in the cadre, has been appointed as Principal Advisor, Planning Commission, in the rank and pay of secretary to government of India.
b) Ms Sadhana Rout, a 1984 batch IIS officer has been appointed as joint secretary in the ministry of women & child development.
c) Sanjeev Chopra, a 1985 batch West Bengal cadre IAS has been appointed as Mission Director, National Horticulture Mission (joint secretary level).
d) The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved waiving-off cooling-off of Santosh Kumar, a 1994 batch Maharashtra cadre IAS and his inter cadre deputation from Maharashtra to Jharkhand cadre for a period of three years.
e) The competent authority has approved that DK Sikri, a 1975 batch Gujarat cadre IAS, secretary, ministry of women and child development, will hold the additional charge of the post of secretary, ministry of coal, during the period of absence on leave of C Balakrishnan, a 1974 batch HP cadre IAS from June 26, 2010 to July 28, 2010.
f) Anand Kumar, a 1984 batch Kerala cadre IAS has been appointed as joint secretary in the ministry of tourism.
g) AK Bhalla, a 1984 batch Assam cadre IAS has been appointed as joint secretary in the ministry of coal.
h) Shyamlal Goyal, a 1985 batch Maharashtra cadre IAS has been appointed as joint secretary in the department of fertilizers.

No comments:

Post a Comment