Saturday, May 17, 2014

Babu Turns Neta: Full list of ex-IAS, IPS, IRS officers who won or lost Lok Sabha polls

Satyapal Singh with Ramdev (File photo)
FORMER IAS officers RK Singh and Bhagirath Prasad, ex-IPS officers Satyapal Singh, Harish Chandra Meena and Vishnu Dayal Ram and former IRS officer Udit Raj -- all from the BJP--- are among the 543 winning candidates in the Lok Sabha polls. As high as seven former IAS and 16 former IPS among others were in the fray in the poll, the results of which were announced on Friday. Here is the list of winning and losing candidates who had an earlier innings as bureaucrats:
Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

1. Christy Fernandez (Ex-IAS) (Independent, supported by CPI-M) Ernakulam, Kerala
Votes: 266794
Results: Lost; 2nd Position  

2. RK Singh (Ex-IAS) (BJP), Arrah, Bihar
Votes: 391074
Results: Won, Defeats RJD’s Bhagwan Singh Kushwaha

3. KP Ramaiah (Ex-IAS) (JD-U), Sasaram, Bihar
Votes: 93310
Results: Lost; 3rd Position

4. Bhagirath Prasad (Ex-IAS), (BJP), Bhind, Madhya Pradesh
Votes: 404474
Results: Won; Defeats Imarti Devi, Congress

5. Yudhbir Singh Khyalia (Ex-IAS) (AAP), Hisar, Haryana
Votes: 28490
Results: Lost, 5th position

6. Ajit Jogi (Ex-IAS), (Congress), Mahasamund, Chhattisgarh
Votes: 502297
Results: Lost, 2nd position; Lost by a margin of 1217 votes

7.  Chandra Pal (Ex-IAS) (Adarsh Samaj Party) Agra, UP
Votes: 557
Results: Lost; 15th Position

Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
1. Mani Shankar Aiyar, (Ex-IFS), Mayiladuthurai, Tamil Nadu
Votes: 58465
Results: Lost; 4th Position

2. Meira Kumar (Ex-IFS) (Congress), Sasaram, Bihar
Votes: 302760
Results: Lost, 2nd Position

Indian Police Service (IPS)
Nikhil Kumar (Ex-IPS) (Congress), Aurangabad, Bihar
Votes: 241594
Results: Lost; 2nd Position

2. Harish Chandra Meena (Ex-IPS) (BJP), Dausa, Rajasthan
Votes: 315059
Results: Won

3. Namo Narain Meena (Ex-IPS) (Congress), Dausa
Votes: 181272
Results: Lost; 3rd Position

4. M Lalmanzuala (Ex-IPS) (AAP), Mizoram
Votes: 11890
Results: Lost; 3rd Position

5. Ajit Joy (Ex-IPS) (AAP), Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
Votes: 14153
Results: Lost; 4th Position

6. Suresh Khopade (Ex-IPS) (AAP), Baramati, Maharashtra
Votes: 26396
Results: Lost; 3rd Position

7. Ajay Kumar (Ex-IPS) Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik), Jamshedpur, Jharkhand
Votes: 364277
Results: Lost; 2nd Position

8. Rameshwar Oraon (ex-IPS) (Congress), Lohardaga, Jharkhand
Votes: 220177
Results: Lost; 2nd Position

9. Vishnu Dayal Ram (Ex-IPS) (BJP), Palamau, Jharkhand
Votes: 476513
Results: Won

10. Amitabh Choudhary (Ex-IPS), Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik), Ranchi, Jharkhand
Votes: 67712
Results: Lost; 4th Position

11. Ashish Ranjan Sinha (Ex-IPS), (Congress), Nalanda, Bihar
Votes: 127270
Results: Lost; 3rd Position

12. Satyapal Singh (Ex-IPS), (BJP) Baghpat, UP
Votes: 423475
Results: Won

13. RK Handa (Ex-IPS), (BJP) Barrackpurr
Votes: 230401
Results: Lost; 3rd Position

14. Sujit Kumar Ghosh (Ex-IPS), (BJP), Murshidabad, West Bengal.
Votes: 101069
Results: Lost; 4th Position

15. Kanchan Chaudhary Bhattacharya, (AAP), Haridwar
Votes: 18170
Results: Lost; 4th Position

16. Ranjit Sekhar Mooshahary (Trinamool Congress) Kokrajhar, Assam
Votes Polled: 17,537
Results: Lost; 5th Position

Indian Revenue Service1. Arvind Kejriwal (Ex-IRS) (AAP) Varanasi, UP
Votes: 209238
Results: Lost; 2nd Position

2. Udit Raj (Ex-IRS), North West Delhi
Votes: 629860
Results: Won

3. Girdhari Lal, Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir
Votes: 1971
Results: Lost; 11th Position


  1. Some of the IRS who won as MPs are...

    1. Shri Malyadri Sriram IRS (vrs) Bapatla Constituency in Andhra Pradesh
    2. Dr.Ravindra Babu IRS (vrs) Amalapuram Constituency in Andhra Pradesh

  2. dineshreddy ips ycp lost
    chaya ratan ias aap...lost


  4. JP Narayan ex-IAS lost from malkajgiri, Hyderabad.

  5. You've forgotten this guy from Chennai south.
    S S Radhakrishnan- independent candidate. His poster says Ex-IRS. Lost at position 20 with 376 votes.

  6. How Citizens Of India benefitted really with entry of ex-bureaucrats in Politices ? Any achievement for India ?