Tuesday, April 17, 2012

3 senior most IAS of 1978 batch have an exposure to Bharat, how?

Bharat Vs India
THREE senior most IAS officers of 1978 batch who are becoming secretaries had an exposure to Bharat, quite literally. All of them have worked in rural development ministries either in states or in the Centre during the recent past.
After the topper of the batch Jawed Usmani got himself shifted to UP as chief secretary, three senior most secretary-empaneled officers, Saurabh Chandra (UP cadre), Gokul Chandra Pati (Orissa cadre) and Arvind Mayaram (Rajasthan cadre) have in fact had a long association with rural development ministries.
Saurabh Chandra, who is likely to be named as DIPP secretary, was UP’s principal secretary in charge of rural development in 2008-9 before moving to Delhi as additional secretary. Chandra was an electrical engineer before getting selected as an IAS.
Gokul Chandra Pati and Arvind Mayaram are colleagues in rural development ministry. Pati, an MSc in physics, was first a joint secretary in rural development ministry, and then an additional secretary. After six years in the ministry, Pati is more close to Bharat than to India!
Mayaram who had a three-year-long innings in North Block has been in rural development ministry from October 2008. As FA, he is technically a part of the finance ministry but in all practical purposes he belongs to rural development ministry. Mayaram was instrumental when rural development ministry, for the first time, jumped into PPP bandwagon. 
Once the senior most empaneled officer becomes a secretary, all others get promotion as special secretaries. The special secretaries like secretaries draw a fixed pay of Rs 80,000 per month.

Seniority List of 1978 batch IAS
Here is the list of the empaneled 1978 batch IAS officers in order of seniority: Jawed Usmani (UP cadre), Saurabh Chandra (UP cadre), Gokul Chandra Pati (Orissa cadre), Arvind Mayaram (Rajasthan cadre), Prem Narain (UP cadre), Rakesh Singh (Punjab cadre), Anoop Mishra (UP cadre), SK Srivastava (Assam cadre), SR Rao (Gujarat cadre), Sudhir Kumar (UP cadre), Anil Goswami (Jammu and Kashmir cadre), Pankaj Agarwal (UP cadre), Rajiv Mehrishi (Rajasthan cadre), R Parasuram (MP cadre), Stuti Narain Kackar (UP cadre), Pankaj Jain (Jammu and Kashmir cadre), Sanjay Kothari (Haryana cadre), Vivek Rae (UT cadre), R Bhattacharya (AP cadre), Desh Deepak Verma (UP cadre), Lakshmi Venkatachalam (Karnataka cadre), AK Mangotra (Manipur-Tripura cadre), V Chhiber (Manipur-Tripura cadre), Ram Sewak Sharma (Jharkhand cadre), Sudhir Mittal (Punjab cadre), Rahul Asthana (Maharashtra cadre), Bipin Bihari Srivastava (Bihar cadre), KN Desiraju (Uttarakahnd cadre), Gop Bandhu Pattanaik (UP cadre), M F Faroogui (Tamil Nadu cadre), KN Srivastava (Karnataka cadre), Ashish Bahuguna (Rajasthan cadre), AP Joshi (Karnataka cadre), V Rajagopalan (UP cadre), P Panneervel (Gujarat cadre) and Uttam Kumar Sangma (Jharkhand cadre).

No comments:

Post a Comment