Thursday, November 10, 2011

1978 batch IAS including Usmani, Mayaram and SR Rao will soon be secretaries

VERY soon, 1978 batch IAS officers will be appointed as Union secretaries ending the additional-charge regime in various ministries. As many as 36 IAS officers including Jawed Usmani, an UP cadre IAS and former PMO joint secretary and Arvind Mayaram, a Rajasthan cadre IAS widely known as PPP man, have been empanelled for appointment as secretaries in Union ministries. Nandan Nilekani’s right-hand man in UIDAI Ram Sewak Sharma and Gujarat cadre IAS SR Rao who hogged the limelight in mid-1990s because of his post-plague work as Surat municipal commissioner also figured in the list. The Surat plague of 1994 killed 52 and resulted in a mass migration of over 3 lakh city residents.
Here is the list of the empanelled 1978 batch IAS officers in order of seniority: Jawed Usmani (UP cadre), Saurabh Chandra (UP cadre), Gokul Chandra Pati (Orissa cadre), Arvind Mayaram (Rajasthan cadre), Prem Narain (UP cadre), Rakesh Singh (Punjab cadre), Anoop Mishra (UP cadre), SK Srivastava (Assam cadre), SR Rao (Gujarat cadre), Sudhir Kumar (UP cadre), Anil Goswami (Jammu and Kashmir cadre), Pankaj Agarwal (UP cadre), Rajiv Mehrishi (Rajasthan cadre), R Parasuram (MP cadre), Stuti Narain Kackar (UP cadre), Pankaj Jain (Jammu and Kashmir cadre), Sanjay Kothari (Haryana cadre), Vivek Rae (UT cadre), R Bhattacharya (AP cadre), Desh Deepak Verma (UP cadre), Lakshmi Venkatachalam (Karnataka cadre), AK Mangotra (Manipur-Tripura cadre), V Chhiber (Manipur-Tripura cadre), Ram Sewak Sharma (Jharkhand cadre), Sudhir Mittal (Punjab cadre), Rahul Asthana (Maharashtra cadre), Bipin Bihari Srivastava (Bihar cadre), KN Desiraju (Uttarakahnd cadre), Gop Bandhu Pattanaik (UP cadre), M F Faroogui (Tamil Nadu cadre), KN Srivastava (Karnataka cadre), Ashish Bahuguna (Rajasthan cadre), AP Joshi (Karnataka cadre), V Rajagopalan (UP cadre), P Panneervel (Gujarat cadre) and Uttam Kumar Sangma (Jharkhand cadre).
Six other IAS officers have also been empanelled for secretary-equivalent posts. They are: V Venkatachalam (UP cadre), P Prabhakaran (Kerala cadre), K Jayakumar (Kerala cadre), RC Mishra (Manipur-Tripura cadre), MM Srivastava (Gujarat cadre), Virendra Narayan Gaur (Nagaland cadre), Subha Kirti Majumdar (Bihar cadre) and R Chandramohan (UT cadre)

Action and Appointments
a) Ms Loretta Mary Vas, a 1977 batch UP cadre IAS and currently special secretary in DEA, has been appointed as secretary in the department of pharmaceutical in place of Mukul Joshi, a 1975 batch Punjab cadre IAS who retired.
b) Radha Krishna Mathur, a 1977 batch Manipur-Tripura cadre IAS, has been appointed as secretary in the ministry of micro, small and medium enterprises in place of Uday Kumar Varma, who was recently appointed as Information and Broadcasting secretary.

1 comment:

  1. My congratulations to Sudhir Kumar (UP cadre ),AK Mangotra (Manipur-Tripura cadre),Prem Narain (UP cadre), Gop Bandhu Pattanaik (UP cadre )

    B A Mylar Rao
    Formerly CMD of Central Electronics Ltd